5 Comments

“Broken” Dreams?

Easy come easy go!  Wait a minute it isn’t so easy coming.  Years of practice, sacrifice, money, determination and it can all be gone in the blink of an eye.

I opened my twitter account only to be greeted by a tweet from my college son that read “RIP tennis season” followed by this lovely picture.

Sorry, I know it’s a little ugly.

Needless to say my heart dropped to my stomach and my hands flew to my cell phone.  It was not tennis that I was concerned about at this time, just the well-being of my child that is twelve hours away from home.

Thank God it looked worse than it was.  A double dislocation and some bone chips was the final diagnosis.  Some heavy pain meds, a few pulls and pops and a big bandage and splint for a week or two and he will be back to normal.  At least that is the plan.  The orthopedic will have to see him and give him clearance before he can play tennis again.

It all occurred in the blink of an eye.  A couple of guys shooting hoops after a workout in the gym and the next thing you know his finger is hanging to the side of his hand.  If you have followed my blog at all you know that my son loves to play basketball in his spare time and I have always been an advocate of allowing your tennis player to have a balanced life and participate in activities outside of tennis.  He water-skies, wake-boards, trail-bikes, jumps off bridges… and a simple game of basketball almost took him out.

I still stand by my commitment to creating a well-balanced tennis player and although I don’t recommend high risk activities for your children I do believe you can’t restrict their activities to prevent injuries.  As Alex said “I am going to have more dumb accidents.”  The truth of the matter is any accident can take them out of the game.  It can happen on the court, in the gym, or walking down the sidewalk.

We dodged a bullet here.  Only two days into college tennis and he’s on the injury list.  The coach is very understanding and happy it is a short time off the court.  Alex is relieved that his dreams of playing his first college tennis season didn’t end with a broken finger, but if they had he would have been okay.  This is the benefit of being more than your tennis.  If he couldn’t play it wouldn’t have been the end of the world.  He has enough other interests and his social network reaches beyond the tennis court.

So remember, it can all come to an end in the blink of an eye.  No matter what your sport of choice, a simple accident can be the end of your athletic career.  What would you or your child do if it all came to an end?  Have you put all your eggs in one basket?

5 comments on ““Broken” Dreams?

  1. Wow, I’m sorry to hear that.

    I hope it gets fixed ASAP!

  2. A debilitating injury took me off the ski slopes–and skiing was my passion. I replaced it with swimming–my new love.

    • Way to turn something negative into a positive. We have always taught our kids that when one door closes another one opens. I am confident that if for some reason he doesn’t heal well and can’t return to tennis he will be fine. Like you he will find a new passion.

Leave a Reply

